forums

TNT Basic Forums > Programming Q&A
Pictured, and erasing
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

10-16-2003 02:37

Posted by:
EvolPenguin

Location:
Chicago

Click Here to Email EvolPenguin   Find more posts by EvolPenguin

Im trying to have a splash like type screen in the beggining of my game, i have the picture, but i cant get it to go away. It just stays there the whole game.Here is the code:
draw picture 140
draw frame
delay 4500
fade down
sprite off
draw frame
delay 200
fade up

Do you notice anything wrong? Can you help. Thanks in advance.
Alex

10-16-2003 03:40

Posted by:
Miles

Location:
Australia

Click Here to Email Miles   Find more posts by Miles

'Draw Picture' won't make a sprite

draw picture 140
draw frame
delay 4500
fade down
sprite off
draw frame
delay 200
fade up

That would be because when you use 'Draw Picture', it draws the picture directly onto the canvas, so it isn't a sprite, as such. So Sprite Off won't make it go away. Try this instead:

Draw Picture 140
Draw Frame
Delay 4500
Fade Down
Set Pen Colour Black
Paint Canvas
Draw Frame
Fade Up

10-16-2003 21:06

Posted by:
EvolPenguin

Location:
Chicago

Click Here to Email EvolPenguin   Find more posts by EvolPenguin

Thanks for your help, it works now, except that i cant use draw text, oh well, I'll use another picture for the Game Over.
Thanks
Alex

10-17-2003 06:04

Posted by:
Jared

Location:
Houston, TX

Find more posts by Jared

You can use copy image to generate image files to pull this stunt off. If I had a better idea of what you were doing I could help better. A routine I use is the following.

int text_drawn="Boy. Shucks howdy!"
int font_name="Helvetica"
inf font_size=30
int font_colour=blue

int bank=128
load images bank

int img_position=count images(128)

int width = Text Width(text_drawn)+2
int height = Text Height+Text Descent+2

open canvas 19,width, height
canvas 19
set pen colour font_colour
paint canvas

open canvas 20,width, height
canvas 20
set pen colour black
paint canvas
set pen colour white
draw text 1,height-1,text_drawn

canvas 19
copy image 0,0,width,height,20,0,0,true to img_position,bank
'sets the offset as the lower left corner
set image offsets img_position,bank,0,Image Height (img_position,bank)

Jared

10-21-2003 23:56

Posted by:
EvolPenguin

Location:
Chicago

Click Here to Email EvolPenguin   Find more posts by EvolPenguin

How do you draw a picture at a certain coordinate? Like:

draw picture 140

But how do you put the coordinates?

Thanks
Alex

10-21-2003 23:58

Posted by:
EvolPenguin

Location:
Chicago

Click Here to Email EvolPenguin   Find more posts by EvolPenguin

Never mind, I got it

Alex

All times are GMT        Post A Reply

Forum Jump:
< Last Thread     Next Thread >

< Contact Us - TNT Basic >

Powered by: vBulletin Lite Version 1.0.1 Lite
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000.