Data storage and management
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

07-14-2003 11:50

Posted by:
jodal

Click Here to Email jodal   Find more posts by jodal

I'm a veteran C++, PHP (and Basic) programmer, but a TNT Basic beginner. I have so far only used it to prototype a CRPG. I'm pretty impressed so far. Since my game is an old school RPG, it seems like it could almost be produced, and not just prototyped, in TNT Basic.

It might be that I'm a TNT beginner, but I miss a slightly more powerful data storage and management structure. RPGs require massive amounts of data.

It would make my day to have multidimensional arrays (although the same thing can be accomplished with a single dimensional array and some extra code).

It would also make my day to have some form of data collections, like the structs in C++. It makes data management a lot more structured!

Declaration for an array of 3 data collections could maybe look something like this

data collection myCharacters[3]
int health
string name
int armourclass
etc.
end collection

Accessing the content of the name field of the second collection array item could maybe look something like this

myCharacters[1].name = "Merlin"

Another suggestion is to have a command to load and save such a collection as a resource.

Load Collection "Characters", myCharacters
Save Collection "Characters", myCharacters

I'm currently writing (sort of) a library doing all of this since I desperately need to manage my data in a more structured way.

Feel free to tell me if it is just me being a newbie TNT Basic coder or if I have a point.

07-14-2003 16:15

Posted by:
eekaydee

Click Here to Email eekaydee   Find more posts by eekaydee

Well you'll be happy to know that your day has already been made! You can make multidimensional arrays.

int array[10,10,10]