forums

TNT Basic Forums > Programming Q&A
TNT will not run
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

05-07-2003 22:07

Posted by:
MapMaker

Location:
Edmonton, Alberta (Canada)

Click Here to Email MapMaker   Find more posts by MapMaker

Well, I ran into a very simple and annoying problem.
When I tell Hieroglyph to run my game, it lauches TNT, and then stops.
And does nothing.
Does anyone know why this would happen?
I can e-mail it to you if you want.

05-07-2003 22:42

Posted by:
someone

Location:
Quebec ( Canada )

Click Here to Email someone   Find more posts by someone

This is a very annoying bug. I *think* it happens if a runtime exception occurs before entering Graphics Mode. Check in your code for a mistake.

05-08-2003 07:45

Posted by:
matteo

Location:
Venice, ITALY!

Click Here to Email matteo   Find more posts by matteo

to me it happens often when I foget to close a loop, say you write a "repeat" without "until"

05-08-2003 14:41

Posted by:
MapMaker

Location:
Edmonton, Alberta (Canada)

Click Here to Email MapMaker   Find more posts by MapMaker

Found

Thanks guys,
The problem was that I just left of and 'end if'
I'm surprised the syntax checker didnt find it.

05-08-2003 16:17

Posted by:
someone

Location:
Quebec ( Canada )

Click Here to Email someone   Find more posts by someone

TNT's syntaxt checker fails to detect 1/6 of the mistakes. It should count beginning and end statements and report an error if they're different.

05-08-2003 18:23

Posted by:
Mark Tully

Location:
TNT HQ, England

Click Here to Email Mark Tully   Find more posts by Mark Tully

quote:
TNT's syntaxt checker fails to detect 1/6 of the mistakes.


... and 88.2% of statistics are made up on the spot ;)

OK, I admit it, we're not too hot on catching missing 'end ifs' 'wends' 'untils' etc. This is a bug, we'll fix it soon.

You say that TNT Basic fails to report mistakes often, is it just these missing end ifs and wends or are you getting other problems also?

Cheers,

Mark

05-08-2003 22:55

Posted by:
someone

Location:
Quebec ( Canada )

Click Here to Email someone   Find more posts by someone

This is not detected, it crashes:

for n=0 to 1
next x

I know writing this is stupid but it's very discouraging when you have to crash your computer everytime you think you fixed the problem :(

And there are other problems, but I can't remember right nw. I will post them as soon as I find them.

05-09-2003 00:48

Posted by:
DanLurie

Location:
Earth>USA>New Jersey>Clifton>My Chair

Click Here to Email DanLurie   Find more posts by DanLurie

How about not requiring you to specify the variable in the next statement? Some BASICs don't make you.

05-09-2003 01:17

Posted by:
matteo

Location:
Venice, ITALY!

Click Here to Email matteo   Find more posts by matteo

infact you don' t have to ( I never do)

05-09-2003 21:56

Posted by:
someone

Location:
Quebec ( Canada )

Click Here to Email someone   Find more posts by someone

Therre are SO MANY useful things never mentionned in the help !

05-11-2003 23:18

Posted by:
Mark Tully

Location:
TNT HQ, England

Click Here to Email Mark Tully   Find more posts by Mark Tully

Oops.. I'll update the help for the next release.

Mark

All times are GMT        Post A Reply

Forum Jump:
< Last Thread     Next Thread >

< Contact Us - TNT Basic >

Powered by: vBulletin Lite Version 1.0.1 Lite
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000.