Gravity and Collisions
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

01-16-2003 05:53

Posted by:
t-maaz

Click Here to Email t-maaz   Find more posts by t-maaz

Hey all - I am new to the TNT Basic software, and I have a question that I can't find posts or FAQ/help answers for. This is a two-parter:

1) Direction of gravity: I noticed in the samples that are shown, the gravity direction is (obviously) "down"... from top to bottom of the screen. Is it possible to have an overhead view gme, or a 3/4 view game (where the ground is slightly sloped upward from the bottom, giving a "field of view" ahead) and have the gravity be to the correct plane? I am a bit stumped as to how to accomplish this.

2) Collisions: The effect I am looking for is identical to when you play pool, and you "break"... one object hits another object, and both the objects react to the collision by a bounce/movement, possibly hitting other objects and inducing the same action/reaction, etc. I found information for how to "detect" a collision... do I need to manually add in the physics calculations to take this to the level I am looking for? Or does TNT already have some physics such as this coded in?

You answers/input are greatly appreciated!!

t-maaz

01-16-2003 07:00

Posted by:
matteo

Click Here to Email matteo   Find more posts by matteo

ho ho...

1)The gravity itself is not pre coded as you may think: you need to code it yourself.
It' s not too difficult:

"x","y" are the x,y coordinates of an object

"xvel", "yvel" are the x and y components of the speed: every frame you put "x= x+xvel" and "y= y+ yvel"

the gravity : normally there is only x gravity (xgrav):
you put (every frame) "xvel= xvel + xgrav".

If you want gravity to go also a little left or right define "ygrav", then every frame put
"yvel=yvel+ ygrav"

the system is

repeat

xvel= xvel + xgrav
yvel=yvel+ ygrav
x= x+xvel
y= y+ yvel
sprite 0,x,y,0
draw frame

next