< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

10-27-2002 23:28

Posted by:
Tony Rose

Click Here to Email Tony Rose   Find more posts by Tony Rose

Ok so heres my problem...

How do I make an object move in the right direction if it is not facing perfectly straight in one direction. I.E.-If I have a tank facing 30 degrees how do I make the tank move straight in that direction? It is probably something simple but Im not very good with math or programing (yet) so I could use some help.

10-28-2002 03:30

Posted by:
eLL'

Click Here to Email eLL'   Find more posts by eLL'

The dread Slope formula

Do you know the slope formula, i beliee it might be of use in this situation, as well as later on when programming missile trajectory

10-28-2002 04:00

Posted by:
Holmes

Click Here to Email Holmes   Find more posts by Holmes

Component vectors!

You gotta break up the angle into its x,y components.

Lets say the tank is moving 5 pixels per second at 30 degrees. Then the tank is moving:

Sin(30)*5 pixels per second vertically
Cos(30)*5 pixels per secon horizontally.

You can basically say that:
Vertical distance covered per frame = Sin(Angle)*speed
Horizontal distance covered per frame = Cos(Angle)*speed

I'll tell you, game programming has really helped my geometry skills. If you're still unclear on this, ask me for some sample code.

10-28-2002 05:53

Posted by:
Tony Rose

Ok...

Ok I understand what your saying and I see how it would work but I cant quite implement it right. If you could send me an example and also expain exactly what a Sin and Cos are that would be great. If its not to much trouble,my email is muzein@jg26.org

10-28-2002 06:10

Posted by:
Tony Rose

Aha!