forums

TNT Basic Forums > Programming Q&A
We've gotta get RealBasic progamers to swith! ;-)
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

06-07-2002 10:03

Posted by:
Franz

Find more posts by Franz

We've gotta get RealBasic progamers to swith! ;-)
i just tried to convert one.

they will be so much happier using TNT!

just about to relace my first public betas! ;-)

06-07-2002 10:26

Posted by:
ERaZer

Find more posts by ERaZer

For games, I've already switched. TNT Basic is so much better to make games with, its easier and its faster(to make em, and the framerate). Oh, and its much cheaper too.

06-09-2002 21:42

Posted by:
Socrates

Find more posts by Socrates

Hardly

I'm a REALbasc programmer, and I for one was certainly not happier switching to TNT. It's lack of object-orientation makes it almost impossible to write anything complex, and it's features are very poor by comparison.

True the framerate is better, but that is down to the fact that it is only good for doing 2D scrolling game sand nothing else. RB allows 3D or 2D games, and skillful programmers can make masterpieces in it. As yet the potential of both RB and TNT have yet to be reached, but when they are, RB will be way ahead. If I ever get round to writing anything I'll prove it to you :-)

It's worth noting that RB is already cross-platform and has a plug in architecture that allows anything to be achieved with a mixture of C and RB code. There are already plugins available to do most of what's missing from it, and new features get added on a weekly, sometimes daily basis. TNT by comparison has none of these abilities, and goes for months between updates, all of which have been minor so far anyway.

It won't lure away RB programmers, what it will lure away is the small subset of RB programmers who only set their sights as high as TNT can reach.