Maps
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

02-13-2002 14:48

Posted by:
Chris

Find more posts by Chris

Perhaps I have missed something, but how do maps work? I've gone through the tutorials and help pretty thoroughly, but can't seem to find any in-depth information. For example, I'm interested in working on a side-scroller (like Mario, but hopefully more like Abe's Odyssey) but there's no (beginner) info on how to define tile sets or map areas. I mean, how does the map know where you can walk, and where you can't? Where do you define that? Again, it's possible I'm missing somethign really simple, but if not I'd appreciate some help. Thanks.

02-13-2002 15:11

Posted by:
ERaZer

Find more posts by ERaZer

Thats not really in TNT yet. You have to do it via code, with things like that you check where the player is in the map(like dividing by 32 and suchs). Check the Bang On! code. I'm not very good at tile collision and I haven't seen any good code yet...

02-13-2002 15:21

Posted by:
Chris

Find more posts by Chris

Well, maybe a tutorial on this subject would be a good idea? I've looked at the Bang-On code, but there's not a single comment in there... so it's a bit like chasing my tail. I was under the impression that this was more or less the point of maps?

02-14-2002 00:18

Posted by:
Mark Tully

Find more posts by Mark Tully

Map collision detection

Hi Chris,

The trouble with automatic collision detection for maps is that a lot of games use maps differently.

You have your side-on platform games where you can pass up through blocks as you jump, but not down through them.

You have you top-down maze games where you can't pass through the blocks in any direction.

You have your shoot-em-ups where the tiles are just the background and you can fly over them all.

You have your games where some sprites can pass through the tiles, but others cannot (eg baddies can, goodies cannot).